Posted by: kellyalpert | November 9, 2009

Annual Checkup!

Annual Checkup:  Well it is getting close to my annual checkup, this is my 5th year since my transplant and all is going well. Having a little stress, my husband’s company recently downsized and he was laid off. Thankfully he has found employment within a week, however it is in Virginia, so our plan is after our youngest son finishes this school year we will be relocating to Virginia.  Of course I have all the regular nervousness about moving and on top of that I’m very nervous about switching all of my doctors, I will keep coming back to Hahnemann for my annual checkups since we will only be 5 hours away.  I will just miss feeling secure with Hahnemann only being 45 minutes away.  I’m sure other transplants patients have had to make move leaving the security of their transplant team, anyone have any advice, it would be greatly appreciated.


Responses

  1. Hi Kelly! Virginia is just beautiful and a wonderful state. That’s a great idea of having your yearly exam continue at PA.My Aunt and Uncle (both doctors) use to live in Virginia and used University of Virginia Hospital in Charlottsville, Va. Rich asked Dr. Eisen about hospitals in Virginia for when we traveled and I believe he suggested one at Roanoke.
    Check in with him. Next month I go for my yearly kidney transplant check.

    • Hi Joan,

      Thank you so much for the information you gave me, I feel so much better. I just returned from Virginia I was there helping my husband settle in. Should we definately move we will be in an area not too far from Roanoke so that is good. I will also check in with Dr. Eisen when we have more of an idea if we will be moving. I agree it is beautiful in Virginia. Thanks so much for the information you shared with me.

      I have noticed things have slowed down a bit with this blog, I’m hoping to be able to start posting more information.

      Have a good night Joan!

      Kelly


Leave a comment

Categories