Posted by: kellyalpert | October 1, 2010

Praying

 After my husband told me I would need a heart transplant the very first thing I thought of was my family, and I wanted to pray for a new heart right away, however I thought how could I ever pray for a heart, that would mean someone would have to die, I just could not do it.  Well my in-laws heard that I was struggling with this, so they asked their minister to come speak with me and give me some guidance.  When I told him I had great difficulty in praying for a new heart because I could not ask for someone else to die and take them away from their family. The minister said to me that  my praying does not give me  the power to create someones destiny, their destiny has already been set in motion.  After I thought about this, I truly understood that I was praying for the connection of two people.   I would like to thank my in laws who really helped me through my struggle.

Kelly

I hope this helps anyone who may be struggling like I was.  Please feel free to share your stories, comments, or questions!


Responses

  1. On the topic of praying….When I layed in bed in August ’98…I knew that I had no other chance than a transplant. I decided to “let go and let God” handle it.But like in “seek and ye shall find…ask and it will be opened”….I did let God know my requests. The humorous thing I remember is having a thought race through my head…”what if I get a new heart for my birthday?” (Sept. 30th) I felt embarrased to even think this. But God in his humor not only supplied a new heart…. but I received it BEFORE my birthday! (Sept 15th). WOW! this was awsome and amazing! I also have wondered how many prayers were answered when my gift of life came through ??!!


Leave a comment

Categories